Healthy Grab & Go Snacks

Hey guys! This week I decided to write a quick post about how I manage to stay healthy on the go.  We all know how hard it can be to keep healthy snacks on us while trying to balance work, kids, school, extracurricular activities, ETC… Here are some tips on what makes life much easier for me and my crew! I keep healthy snack bins in my pantry that are packed and ready to grab and go out the door.  Inside the bins you will find: bagged almonds and bagged dried fruit (YES, I bag them myself… It requires only a few minutes after walking in the door from the grocery store and it’s a much cheaper alternative to buying them individually packaged), squeezable fruit pouches (NO, these are NOT just for children… I love them. I don’t have a favorite brand. I just buy whatever’s on sale), granola bars, and yogurt covered raisins (the kids love them!!!).  I also keep an area in the bottom drawer of my fridge for healthy grab and go snacks.  Here you will find: string cheese, gogurt, bagged baby carrots, and bagged grapes.  There are many other options to keep on hand, packed, and ready to go, but these are what I currently have.  I’m constantly switching up the type of dried fruits, the flavor of squeezable fruit pouches, and the different variety of snacks on hand, BUT…the important thing is always being prepared!  I pack and prepare all of our snacks for the week the moment I walk in the door from the store because I know if I don’t do it then then I won’t do it at all.  It not only makes life easier when we are rushing out the door for dance, cheer, 4-H, or gymnastics, but it also makes life easier on Mom & Dad when getting everyone’s lunches ready for school in the mornings.  If you are anything like our family, you will appreciate having some healthy snacks on hand.

photo-4

Leave a Reply

